STAIRway to hell

I don’t know about you but I’ve always hated the stairs!!! It’s one of the exercises that I so dread yet see so many good results from.  My trainer always said “Sandra, if you want that big butt you better do them stairs”.  Something about a big butt and stairs just didn’t seem quite worth it to me.  Growing up in Brooklyn, I lived in a four story building and what do you know, I lived on the fourth floor.  Living on the fourth floor meant two things.  #1 when I leave the house in the morning, I need to make sure I get everything done because I’m not walking back down those stairs to walk back up and #2 if I was already in the house, it better had been a damn good reason to make me walk down to walk back up.  As you can see…even when I was younger I hated them.  Today I can finally say I have a love hate relationship with the stairs.  And because I know I hate them way more then I love them, I make sure I include them every chance I get in my life.  For the past two years, I can say I have been honored and very proud of myself to participate in the Bank of America Fight For Air Stair Climb.  What this is is, I participate in climbing the stairs of one of the tallest buildings in San Francisco.  52 flights of stairs, 1197 steps!!! You might be thinking…”girl…you are crazy” and I promise you every year at about the 11th floor I think the same thing but it’s my challenge!!! I climb the stairs during this challenge for two reasons. #1 I climb it for all the lung cancer people, for all the smokers and for all the people who don’t have good lungs as I do and #2 I climb it because it’s the one thing that I hate to do that I need to love more.  Year one of my climb I finished in 61 minutes.  Felt like HOURS.  Year two, I finished in 33 minutes.  YAY for me!!! Next year I hope to do better 🙂

Stairs has not only help shape my thighs but it’s also yes ladies and gentlemen helped curve my nosatall!!! I’m currently walking the stairs with co-workers twice a week.  We walk down from the 1st floor then up to the 16th floor then back down to the 10th.  And while I huff and puff in the stairwells I’m happy to say…at least I can do it without having the paramedics being called 🙂 When I go to the gym, bet your bottom dollar I’m doing the stairmaster.

And while I don’t have the attitude of stairs being hell, I can say I’m starting to love them more and more 🙂

Here are some pics of me in 2009 Stair Climb! A picture of me in 2010 can be found to the right :o)

Bank of America building – 52 flight, 1197 stairs

2009 – 61 minutes

About curvaciouslyfierce

Aimlessly walking this earth making tiny footsteps of progress!!! View all posts by curvaciouslyfierce

One response to “STAIRway to hell

