You can FRUIT me anytime :)

I’m lucky enough to work in a department where I have the liberty to eat healthy when possible.  Bi-monthly I have an order of fruit delivered to the department.  My team loves it but I especially love to reap the benefits of it.  Not only does it allow me to check the fruit intake boxes on my Weight Watchers Food Tracker but I also get first dibs on all the extraordinary fruits.

Here is a picture of the fruit box on fruit day.  Fist pump in the air for me as I was able to snatch an avocado (my favorite fruit of all time), 2 bananas, a kiwi, a plumot, and a pomegranate!!!

Growing up, I always had my favorite of the fruit family as well as my least favorites.  Like I can tell you right off the back, I can’t stand apples.  Never have, never will.  With that being said, given the opportunity, I would slaughter an apple pie :).  Going back to being a kid we learned about the Food Pyramid and the importance of having fruit in your life and in your daily diet.  I don’t think people have learned to grasp the fundamentals of the benefits of fruits.  Man…with all the nutrients and health benefits in one fruit it’s a shame we don’t eat more of it.

Did you know…the amount of fruit you need to eat depends on your age, sex, and level of physical activity???

Check this out!!!  Recommended amounts are shown in the table below provided by http://www.mypyramid.gov

Daily recommendation*
Children
2-3 years old
1 cup*
4-8 years old
1 to 1 ½ cups*
Girls
9-13 years old
1 ½ cups*
14-18 years old
1 ½ cups*
Boys
9-13 years old
1 ½ cups*
14-18 years old
2 cups*
Women
19-30 years old
2 cups*
31-50 years old
1 ½ cups*
51+ years old
1 ½ cups*
Men
19-30 years old
2 cups*
31-50 years old
2 cups*
51+ years old
2 cups*

*These amounts are appropriate for individuals who get less than 30 minutes per day of moderate physical activity, beyond normal daily activities. Those who are more physically active may be able to consume more while staying within calorie needs.

About curvaciouslyfierce

Aimlessly walking this earth making tiny footsteps of progress!!! View all posts by curvaciouslyfierce

One response to “You can FRUIT me anytime :)

  • Greg Simms

    Hi Sandra, this is your Father here. I was just checking out your web site and I must say that I like what I see.

    It looks good and there is a lot to read. I’m glad to see that you put your gift of gab to good use. Needless to say, your mother and I are very proud of you.

    About that photo of you above, what are you dong with yur hand on your hip? you’re not grown… I.. eh….Oh, sorry. I just suffered a temperary parental flash back.

    Luv Ya,

    Daddy.

