My simple bio

A few years ago I made a decision.  Of course this decision came about after viewing some horrible (in my opinion) pictures.  That decision was it’s time to shed the excess fat.  How I was going to do it was going to take hard work.  Blood, sweat and tears to be exact.  I didn’t know if I had it in me but I NEEDED to do it.  Food has always been my best friend.  Growing up in Latin family how could food not be my best friend.  I learned to live and die by the twinkie and be happy with it.  Tipping the scale at 314lbs I almost wanted to rip my face off.  That’s how I felt at the doctor’s office.  Not only was I fat but I was humiliated and having to hear and see that number made me the biggest person in the world in my eyes.  I’d just come back from the Bahamas with a friend and looking at those pics of me with sweat imprinting from my rolls through my shirt was mortifying.  Going to my doctor for my annual physical and stepping on a scale was my 2nd reality check.  Test after test came back negative.  No fibroid problems, no high blood pressure, no diabetes.  The only thing I got was a horrible stare and the words I would never forget.  “For you to be so big, I’m shocked you don’t have any problems”.  As if (I thought) all fat people had problems.  She proceeded to tell me well you need to do something about this weight before you get problems.  I left that doctors office with my heart in my hand from embarrassment and pain and vowed two things.  #1 – loose all of this weight and #2 – never go back to that doctor again.

My journey began May 2008.  I managed to loose 85lbs.  It wasn’t easy and I always didn’t have happy moments.

My name is Sandra Octavia Simms.  Born a bi-racial baby to an African American father and a Dominican mother.  To date I am 33 years old, 5’3 tall.  Always looking for the brighter days with laughs, smiles and love.  Never a dull moment in my life and taking baby steps to what I call my perfection.

Follow me on this new journey that I’ve embarked on where I will be logging health, happiness, and pain in order to achieve my perfection. I can’t promise you a lifetime of achieved goals but I can promise you tiny baby steps to what I call “The Day And Life of a Perfect Imperfection”

About curvaciouslyfierce

Aimlessly walking this earth making tiny footsteps of progress!!! View all posts by curvaciouslyfierce

8 responses to “My simple bio

